C. Vivian Stringer of Rutgers Named 2020 John R. Wooden Award Legends of Coaching Recipient

C. Vivian Stringer of Rutgers Named 2020 John R. Wooden Award Legends of Coaching Recipient

LOS ANGELES, CA (October 1, 2019) – C. Vivian Stringer, Rutgers University’s Women’s Basketball Coach, will receive the John R. Wooden Award®’s “Legends of Coaching™” honor in 2020. Coach Wooden’s grandson-in-law Craig Impleman was proud to announce her selection at the Los Angeles Athletic Club’s annual Wooden Award Tip-Off Luncheon. The luncheon features the head coaches from the Division I men’s basketball programs in Southern California. The “Legends of Coaching” honor recognizes coaches who exemplify Coach Wooden’s high standard of coaching success and personal integrity.

The “Legends of Coaching” award was adopted by the Wooden Award Steering Committee in 1999. The honorees are selected based on character, success on the court, graduation rate of student-athletes in their basketball program, coaching philosophy, and identification with the goals of the John R. Wooden Award. Coach Stringer will be recognized during the Wooden Award Weekend April 9-10, 2020, as a part of the Los Angeles Athletic Club’s celebration of the greatest players and coaches in men’s and women’s college basketball. She will be awarded the honor during the 6th Annual ESPN College Basketball Awards on April 10, 2020.

Coach Stringer has 48 years of head coaching experience, including 24 years as the head coach of Rutgers University. She led Cheyney University to the first-ever NCAA National Championship game in women’s college basketball and became the first coach in men’s or women’s basketball history to take three different schools to the Final Four. During the 2018-19 season, she became the fifth coach in NCAA Division I women’s basketball to surpass the 1,000 career win milestone and currently ranks sixth all-time. In 2009, Coach Stringer was enshrined in the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame in a class that included Wooden Award winners Michael Jordan (1984-North Carolina) and David Robinson (1987-Navy).

A noted administrator, Stringer was instrumental in the development of the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association. She serves on the Board of Directors of the Kay Yow/WBCA Cancer Fund, created in the fall of 2007. The Foundation, in partnership with the V Foundation for Cancer Research, is an initiative to fight breast cancer. She also serves on the U.S. Department of State’s Council to Empower Women and Girls Through Sports.


John R. Wooden Award

Legends of Coaching Honorees

2020       C. Vivian Stringer, Rutgers

2019       Lon Kruger, Oklahoma  

2018       Jay Wright, Villanova

2017       Muffet McGraw, Notre Dame

2016       Tubby Smith, Texas Tech

2015       Steve Fisher, San Diego State

2014       Tara VanDerveer, Stanford

2013       Bill Self, Kansas

2012       Geno Auriemma, Connecticut

2011       Tom Izzo, Michigan State

2010       Billy Donovan, Florida

2009       Rick Barnes, Texas

2008       Pat Summitt, Tennessee

2007       Gene Keady, Purdue

2006       Jim Boeheim, Syracuse

2005       Jim Calhoun, Connecticut

2004       Mike Montgomery, Stanford

2003       Roy Williams, Kansas

2002       Denny Crum, Louisville

2001       Lute Olson, Arizona

2000       Mike Krzyzewski, Duke

1999       Dean Smith, North Carolina


About the John R. Wooden Award

Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award Program hosts the most prestigious honors in college
basketball recognizing The Wooden Award Most Outstanding Player for men and women, The Wooden Award All America Teams for men and women and the annual selection of the Wooden Award Legend of Coaching recipient. Honorees have proven to their university that they meet or exceed the qualifications of the John R. Wooden Award as set forth by Coach Wooden and the Wooden Award Steering Committee, including making progress towards graduation and maintaining at least a 2.0 cumulative GPA. Previous winnersinclude Larry Bird (’79), Michael Jordan (’84), Tim Duncan (’97), Kevin Durant (’07), Candace Parker (’07; ’08), Maya Moore (’09; ’11), Chiney Ogwumike (’14), and last year’s recipients, Sabrina Ionescu of Oregon and Zion Williamson of Duke.

Since its inception, the John R. Wooden Award has contributed nearly one million dollars to the universities’ general scholarship fund in the names of the Wooden Award All American recipients and has sent more than 1,000 underprivileged children to week-long college basketball camps. Additionally, the John R. Wooden Award partners with the Special Olympics Southern California (SOSC) each year to host the Wooden Award Special Olympics Southern California Basketball Tournament. The day-long tournament brings together Special Olympics athletes and Wooden Award All Americans and coaches in attendance. It is hosted at the Los Angeles Athletic Club during the John R. Wooden Award Weekend.

The Legends of Coaching Award will be presented during the 6th Annual ESPN College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s, which will take place on Friday, April 10, 2020. For up-to-date information on the Wooden Award, please go to www.woodenaward.com and follow the Wooden Award on Facebook at www.facebook.com/woodenaward and @WoodenAward on Twitter and Instagram.

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.