John R. Wooden Award All American Team Announced

John R. Wooden Award All American Team Announced

Los Angeles (March 31, 2014) — The 10-player John R. Wooden Award All American Team was released today by The Los Angeles Athletic Club and announced on the ESPNU show “Katz Korner.” The 10 players were selected by a voting base of nearly 1,000 college basketball experts throughout the nation and by fans through the Fan Voting site The Top 5 vote-getters have been invited to Los Angeles for the Wooden Award Gala presented by Wendy’s on April 11 and were highlighted on the show. In alphabetical order, the invited players are Wichita State’s Cleanthony Early, Arizona’s Nick Johnson, Creighton’s Doug McDermott, Duke’s Jabari Parker, and Louisville’s Russ Smith.

The All American Team is made up of the 10 student-athletes who received the most votes, with voters ranking the balloted players from 1 to 10. All players have proven to their universities that they are making progress toward graduation and are maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA, an important component of the Award insisted upon by Coach Wooden. Voters could consider performance during the first three rounds of the NCAA Tournament. The Women’s All American team will be released Wednesday.

Rounding out the All American Team, also in alphabetical order, are Sean Kilpatrick of Cincinnati, Shabazz Napier of Connecticut, Casey Prather of Florida, Nik Stauskas of Michigan and Andrew Wiggins of Kansas.  The John R. Wooden Award presented by Wendy’s Men’s Player of the Year will be announced on ESPN’s SportsCenter on Friday, April 4 in Dallas, Texas. The 38th Annual Wooden Award Gala presented by Wendy’s will honor the male and female Wooden Award winners, and will include the presentation of the Wooden Award All American Teams and the Legends of Coaching Award, this year given to Stanford Head Women’s Basketball Coach Tara VanDerveer. The Gala will take place April 11, 2014 at The Los Angeles Athletic Club.

Creighton senior forward Doug McDermott, a Wooden Award All American in 2012 and 2013, is the only returner to the team and is the first three-time selection on the men’s side since North Carolina’s Tyler Hansbrough (2007-09). McDermott is the nation’s leading scorer at 26.7 points per game, and his 3,150 career points puts him No. 5 on the NCAA all-time scoring list. He led the Bluejays to the last three NCAA Tournaments.

Early of Wichita State led the Shockers to an amazing 34-0 regular season record, averaging 16.4 points and 5.9 rebounds while shooting 84% from the free throw line. Johnson of Arizona did it all for the Wildcats, pouring in 16.3 points and adding 4.1 rebounds and 2.8 assists while taking his team to the Elite Eight. Parker was one of two freshmen chosen to the All American team; he averaged 19.1 points and 8.7 rebounds for Duke. Smith led Louisville to the American Athletic Conference regular season and tournament titles, averaging 18.2 points and 4.6 assists.

The American Athletic Conference placed the most players on the John R. Wooden Award All American Team with three. The Pac-12, Big 12, SEC, Big Ten, ACC, Missouri Valley and Big East each had one selection.

# # #

2013-14 John R. Wooden Award®
Presented by Wendy’s®
2013-14 All American Team

Name Ht. Yr. Pos. School Conference
Cleanthony Early 6-8 Sr. F Wichita State Missouri Valley
Nick Johnson 6-3 Jr. G Arizona Pac-12
Sean Kilpatrick 6-4 Sr. G Cincinnati The American
Doug McDermott*# 6-8 Sr. F Creighton Big East
Shabazz Napier 6-1 Sr. G Connecticut The American
Jabari Parker 6-8 Fr. F Duke ACC
Casey Prather 6-6 Sr. F Florida SEC
Russ Smith 6-0 Sr. G Louisville The American
Nik Stauskas 6-6 So. G Michigan Big Ten
Andrew Wiggins 6-8 Fr. G Kansas Big 12

Players listed alphabetically  

* indicates player chosen to the 2013 Wooden All American Team

# indicates player chosen to the 2012 Wooden All American Team

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.