John R. Wooden Award Announces 2014-15 Women's All-Americans

John R. Wooden Award Announces 2014-15 Women's All-Americans

LOS ANGELES, CA (March 30, 2015) -- The Los Angeles Athletic Club announced the 2015 John R. Wooden Award Women’s All Americans on a 30-minute show on ESPNU. Selected by hundreds of national college basketball media members and the Award’s former winners, the All American team is made up of five student-athletes who were the top vote-getters in the quest to earn college basketball’s most prestigious honor. The team consists of alphabetically: Nina Davis (Baylor); Jewell Loyd (Notre Dame); Tiffany Mitchell (South Carolina); Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis (Connecticut); and Breanna Stewart (Connecticut).  

Stewart is the only returning player to the Wooden All American team; she finished third in the voting tally in 2014 as a sophomore. Stewart, a junior forward who was named American Athletic Conference Player of the Year, is averaging 17.5 points and 7.3 rebounds (stats through 3/28/15). 

Stewart, her teammate Mosqueda-Lewis, Mitchell, and Loyd all will lead their teams into the Final Four next weekend. Davis’ Baylor squad fell to Loyd’s Notre Dame team yesterday.

The Wooden Award ceremony will honor and reveal the Men's and Women's Wooden Award winners, and will include the presentation of the Wooden Award All American Teams and the Legends of Coaching Award, which in 2015 will go to San Diego State Head Men’s Basketball Coach Steve Fisher. This announcement will be televised live on ESPN2 from Club Nokia in Los Angeles at 5 p.m. on Friday April 10 as part of the first ever ESPN College Basketball Awards Show Presented by Wendy’s.

Voting was from March 17-24, and voters could take into consideration the opening rounds of the NCAA Tournament. As insisted upon by Coach Wooden at the Award’s creation 39 years ago, All Americans have proven to their universities that they are making progress toward graduation and are maintaining at least a cumulative 2.0 GPA.

About the John R. Wooden Award

Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball.  It is bestowed upon the nation’s best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his or her university that he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a minimum cumulative 2.0 GPA.  Previous winners include such notables as Larry Bird (’79), Michael Jordan (’84), Tim Duncan (’97), Candace Parker (’07 and ’08), Blake Griffin (’09) and Maya Moore of Connecticut (’09 and ‘11). Stanford’s Chiney Ogwumike won the 2014 Wooden Award.


Since its inception, the John R. Wooden Award has contributed close to a million dollars to universities’ general scholarship fund in the names of the All American recipients. The Award has also sent more than 1,000 underprivileged children to week-long college basketball camps in the Award’s name.   Additionally, the John R. Wooden Award partners with Special Olympics Southern California (SOSC) each year to host the Wooden Award Special Olympics Southern California Basketball Tournament.  The day-long tournament, which brings together Special Olympic athletes and the All Americans, takes place at The Los Angeles Athletic Club the weekend of the John R. Wooden Award Ceremony.


Follow the candidates and get the latest news throughout the season by going to the Wooden Award facebook page at or twitter feed @WoodenAward.  For more information on the John R. Wooden Award, please contact the Wooden Award staff at 213-630-5231 or via email at [email protected].


2014-15 John R. Wooden Award All Americans, Women




















Nina Davis





Big 12

Jewell Loyd




Notre Dame


Tiffany Mitchell




South Carolina


Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis





The American

Breanna Stewart*





The American


 Players listed alphabetically

* 2014 Wooden All American

Showing 1 reaction

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • Chris Acker
    published this page in News & Media 2015-03-30 18:20:40 -0700